The Grand Hotel Abaddon | Help settle a debate between two rules lawyers
We need some help settling on the interpretation on the rules of the Haunting mechanic in The Grand Hotel Abaddon (warning, spoilers possible).
After the ghosts are let free, it seems there are two ways that haunts can occur (a) a character ends their turn on the same location as a ghost, or (b) a user interacts with a location which triggers a ghost to haunt (e.g., 616 and 790). In the former, it is pretty explicitly explained by R2:
"If you are on the same location card as one or more ghosts at the end of your turn then: a ghost is haunting you! Take the lowest-numbered card still in the H1-H6 stack and read it out loud."
All of the H cards share one common action:
"Check whether any of you have adventure cards with a spiral symbol ... put the lowest-numbered spiral card back in the box."
Is the above to be qualified to those players which are being hunted (i.e., those players that are on the same location of the ghost/triggered the ghost interaction) or is it to apply to ALL players.
For instance, Alice interacts with location 790 and triggers a haunt. Bob is in a different location, say location A. Bob has item 17 (which has a spiral). Alice has item 19 (which has a spiral). Should the haunt cause Bob to lose his item (as it is the lowest spiral item left in the game unqualified), or should Alice lose item 19 (which is the lowest spiral item held by a player which is being haunted)?
Please sign in to leave a comment.
Comments
0 comments